-- / --

A solo adventure: Alone reveals Marc Copland, one of the most popular pianists on the international jazz scene, in purest form with only the listener vis-à-vis. And he surprises with three superb interpretations of songs from Canadian Joni Mitchell. Alongside pieces by Mal Waldron, Sammy Cahn, Wayne Shorter, and Bronislaw Kaper are three of Copland’s own compositions on this CD—including »Night Whispers«, an extended piece of over eleven minutes. Along with »Into the Silence« and »Blackboard«, this piece reflects a lot on Copland’s ability to generate a suspenseful atmospheric intensity. Marc Copland solo. A listening experience to be reflected. These pieces have something magical that is only found in exceptional music: they throw the listener back into his or her own feelings and thoughts. And in this respect, the last two lines of the Bill Zavatsky poem that appears on the CD’s cover is especially appropriate: »Let’s listen while we have the chance to music no one’s heard. »And that’s what we hear when we, with Marc Copland, listen »alone« deep within ourselves«.


  1. Soul Eyes
  2. I Don’t Know Where I Stand
  3. Night Whispers
  4. Into the Silence
  5. Rainy Night House
  6. I Should Care
  7. Fall
  8. Blackboard
  9. Michael from Mountain
  10. Hi Li Hi Lo
Music Name